So…yeah. I started a blog.

Ummm…hi.

Yes, you there, on the other side of that fancy technological device.

This is a little bit weird.

Nice to meet you…?

*Insert virtual handshake here*

Yes. I started a blog.

Why, do you ask? Or maybe you didn’t ask. But you’re sitting here reading this anyway, so I might as well tell you.

I’m stuck.

I’m a landlocked beach bum with a seafaring soul.

OK, landlocked might be a stretch. But the closest beach is three hours away. So there.

I feel like I belong at the beach. It’s my home away from home. The call of the sea and all of that.

I’m living in one place and longing for another.

Which is, apparently, not so uncommon, this longing for another place.

Check out this passage from my favorite New Testament book, Hebrews:

All these people were still living by faith when they died. They did not receive the things promised; they only saw them and welcomed them from a distance, admitting that they were foreigners and strangers on earth. People who say such things show that they are looking for a country of their own. If they had been thinking of the country they had left, they would have had opportunity to return. Instead, they were longing for a better country—a heavenly one. Therefore God is not ashamed to be called their God, for he has prepared a city for them. (Hebrews 11:13-16)

While the beach is an amazing place (and some might even argue, God’s country), it cannot even come close to the country, the heavenly city that God has prepared for those that love Him.

So, I’m a landlocked beach bum with a seafaring soul. A renewed spirit living in a corrupted, fleshly body, ultimately longing for the day that I am reunited with my Savior in a glory so magnificent that I can’t even comprehend it.

Like the beach. But infinitely better.

Welcome to the voyage.

Sail on (metaphorically, of course, unless you are actually aboard a seafaring vessel at the moment, to which I must say that I am very impressed that you are sailing and reading a blog at the same time).

-A Seafaring Soul

One thought on “So…yeah. I started a blog.

Leave a comment